10 Months Later

20151211-dsc01857_20151211_3864_min

Today is exactly 10 months after I summited Kilimanjaro. Yesterday I watched an episode of Landgång at SVT (you can see it here) where you followed a group of people trying to summit the mountain using the same route that I hiked, namely Machame Route. The footage brought up many memories and emotions. I started to reflect on many of the decisions that I have made and things that have happened the last few weeks. Quickly though, I left what had happened the last few weeks and took some time to go over my own photos and videos from the hike and remembered and looked back on my feelings I had then. I could almost feel the same exciting nerving feeling I had when I walked the last part along the ridge towards the summit, while the sun started to rise behind my back. The smile on my face that only grew larger and larger and the tears that pushed trough out of happiness and relief. The wave of emotions I felt after so many hours of putting one foot in front of the other in complete darkness, is hard to explain but it was incredible. You can read more about the hike in the links below(the posts are written in Swedish) or under the tag Kilimanjaro.

Day 1. Machame Gate – Machame Camp

Day 2. Machame Camp – Shira Camp

Day 3. Shira Camp – Barranco Camp

Day 4. Barranco Camp – Karanga Camp

Day 5. Karanga Camp – Barufu Camp

Day 6. Barufu Camp – Uhuru Peek – Millenium Camp

Day 7. Millenium Camp – Mweka Gate

A few times since I got back from Egypt I have wanted to update the blog but due to so many things going on at once I simply prioritized other things rather than sitting in front of the computer. But now when I’m at home sick I have some extra time I can use. I’m very happy to have my own apartment again, my own home. I’ve gone through all my thing to see what I need and what I don’t. After all I like to live quite simple with not too many things around me. I now have a pile of old clothes and some things that I will sell or give away. I need to do another round as well since I know there are more things that I don’t use often enough.

The climbing and freediving are both going well. I try to climb twice a week and then I train freediving twice a week as well. I started out in a group here in Lund but I felt the purpose of their training was not the same as mine. I wanted to develop my skills and technique to become a stronger freediver. It is important for me to have someone that can give me feedback on what I need to think about. The group in Malmö on the other hand felt much better to which I continued to go to.

In the near future I will go through some big changes in my life and I will tell you more about those soon. But before I sum this up, I want to thank you for still visiting the blog even though I haven’t been very active here the last few months. Take care of yourselves.

 

Leave a comment