New Adventures – Swedish Classic Circuit

It is a new year and I have spent a lot of time the last few months figuring out what my new adventures will be. The list of what I want to do is just growing. I have the possibility to join several friends all over the world to free dive, summit mountains, or just meet up after a long time without seeing each other in real life. The problem is that it’s impossible to do all at once. I don’t have the money for it and I don’t have enough vacation days to cover everything at once. The question then is, what should I start with?

At the moment I work full time at Qlik, as a software developer. This week I also started with a Personal Trainer online, called Andreas Linden(a well known triathlete), who will help me put up a training plan to prepare for the upcoming competitions I’ve signed up for. He will also help we with my diet so that I get enough energy to maximize my performance. The training scheme starts on Monday and I’m super excited! By having regular contact several days a week I think I will learn a lot about nutrition and health in relation to performance, but also in general. I’m looking forward to actually apply that knowledge onto myself, to see the difference when you supply your body with the energy and nutrients that it needs. He will help me at least three months and then I’ve said I will take an active decision to continue or not. The competitions I will attend are the ones included in a Swedish Classic Circuit. In June I will start with a 300 km bike race(Vätternrundan), in July I will swim 3 km in open water(Vansbrosimmet), in September I will run 30 km in terrain(Lidingöloppet) and finally in late February 2018 I will finish with skiing 90 km(Vasaloppet). All competitions must be finished within 12 months to receive the diploma. I felt I wanted to take help preparing for these challenges to minimize the risk of injuries, to prepare myself in the best possible way and to push and see how far I can get. Therefore I’ve decided that this year, my main focus will be these competitions.

On top of that I will of course continue with my yoga/meditation, free diving and climbing. I think I need to postpone the mountaineering until next year, maybe it’s possible to climb both Mt Elbrus and Aconcagua, having them as my main goal that year? We will just have to wait and see 🙂

Leave a comment